Digital literacy

Digital literacy is defined as capabilities which allow an individual to live, learn and work in a digital society. 

The Digital Literacy Framework defines the different digital literacies and levels. The Framework is informed and based on the EU Digital Competence (DIGCOMP) framework specification which has also informed Jisc's Digital Capability Framework. The five areas in the Digital Literacy Framework are:

  1. Finding, using and managing information
  2. Working in the digital age
  3. Creating digital content
  4. Digital responsibilities
  5. Problem solving in the digital world

The five areas have beginner, intermediate and advanced competency levels. 

In April 2016, the Learning, Teaching and Assessment sub-committee approved the framework. The sub-committee also indicated that ARU students and staff should have the following competencies in all five areas:

  • Students – no baseline requirements (information only)
  • Professional Services staff – beginner level
  • Academic staff – intermediate level 

Digital Literacy Barometer

The Digital Literacy Barometer (login required) is a skills audit tool that provides an opportunity for staff to self-assess their digital literacy competencies against established criteria. This tool can be used:

  • To understand your own digital competencies
  • To use during staff induction and preparation for appraisal
  • To help you plan your own CPD
  • In the teaching review of academic staff
  • To help you track your progress after a year's CPD and application of your new skills
  • By faculties to ensure team members have the necessary skills to make effective use of learning technologies in their learning and teaching practice
  • To inform the integration of digital literacy skills within curriculum.

Please contact us to be given access to the Digital Literacy Barometer.

Related resources

For more digital literacy resources, please visit the pages below.