Honoraries inspire Anglia Ruskin students at graduation

Published: 19 October 2018 at 09:35

Norah Al-Ani

Six people receive honorary awards as part of annual celebrations

Six inspiring people who have shown tremendous personal qualities to achieve success in their fields were honoured by Anglia Ruskin University during its annual graduation ceremonies.

They received their awards from Professor Iain Martin, Vice Chancellor of Anglia Ruskin University, and addressed the students graduating in their respective ceremonies.

During a ceremony at Chelmsford Cathedral on Monday, October 8, Harlow headteacher Vic Goddard, a powerful and passionate advocate for young people, was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Education.

And as graduations moved on to the Corn Exchange in Cambridge, former Anglia Ruskin student Neil Bentley OBE was made an Honorary Doctor of Health Sciences on Tuesday, October 16. Neil led the UK public response to the Ebola outbreak in Sierra Leone in 2014 and was awarded the OBE for Services to Public Health in the 2016 Queen’s New Year Honours.

On Wednesday, October 17, award-winning novelist Professor Rebecca Stott was made an Honorary Doctor of Letters. Rebecca is a member of that highly select band of writers who have been able to successfully bridge the gap between academia and fiction, and has long-standing links to Anglia Ruskin having taught there for 13 years.

In the afternoon ceremony, Norah Al-Ani, director of Cambridge Rape Crisis Centre, was made an Honorary Fellow. Norah is described as “a tremendous advocate for women and girls - an inspiring figure wholly committed to creating a world free from sexual violence.”

Former Vice Chancellor of Anglia Ruskin, Professor Michael Thorne, was made an Honorary Doctor of Music in a ceremony on Thursday, 18 October. Professor Thorne is a celebrated mathematician, musician, and a visionary academic leader and was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 2016 in recognition of his services to education.

Finally, Councillor George Pippas, received an Honorary Fellowship on Thursday, October 18. A successful engineer and businessman, George has made the transition to politics and was Mayor of Cambridge from May 2017 until May 2018 - the first non-UK European-born citizen to hold the position.

More than 4,500 students graduated at Anglia Ruskin’s 2018 ceremonies across Peterborough, Chelmsford and Cambridge.