EU Bursary

If you’re an EU national and you’re coming to study at ARU for the first time, this scholarship is for you. It could help you relocate to the UK and settle into life here.

We’re offering an EU Undergraduate Bursary of £800 to students who start a full-time undergraduate degree at ARU in the 2019/20 or 2020/21 academic year.




You'll receive the full amount in your first year of study. Payments are made via BACS to a UK bank account at two points in the year.


To be eligible, you must meet all of the following conditions:

  • be an EU national (not including UK)
  • be ordinarily resident* in an EU country (not including UK)
  • have received an offer of admission for entry to Anglia Ruskin University for the 2019/20 or 2020/21 academic year
  • accept our offer of a place as your UCAS firm choice by the relevant cut-off date (see 'Key dates' below)
  • register for a full-time (three- or four-year) undergraduate degree at Anglia Ruskin University with first enrolment in 2019/20 or 2020/21
  • be in your first year of study at the University
  • be studying in Cambridge, Chelmsford or Peterborough Guild House.

You will not be eligible for our EU Bursary if you are:

  • undertaking courses at Cambridge Ruskin International College (CRIC)
  • funded by the NHS
  • studying MBChB Medicine
  • directly continuing from one course to another (for example from a foundation degree, CRIC course or HND on to the final year of an honours degree)
  • transferring into the second or final year from another higher education institution.

Foundation, degree apprenticeship, top-up degrees, distance learning degree programmes and/or CPD and short courses are also excluded.

How to apply

There is no need to apply. You'll automatically receive our EU Bursary if you meet the eligibility criteria and accept our offer of a place.

Key dates

You should accept our offer of a place as your UCAS firm choice no later than:

  • 20 December 2019 (for January 2020 entry)

*Ordinarily resident: for the purposes of assessing eligibility for our EU Bursary, applicants must have been ordinarily resident in an EU member country (excluding the UK) for three years before starting a course at ARU. Full details are in our terms and conditions.