Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is a non-executive, voluntary Board whose remit is to:

  • Advise PIER on how best to grow capacity and solidify its position as a national centre of excellence in policing research and to help it raise its profile nationally and internationally.
  • Offer strategic level support and challenge to the Director of PIER and encourage a realistic ambition for PIER informed by developments in the external landscape.
  • Ensure that PIER activities are delivered in line with its values (set out in the PIER Strategy) and with due regard to risk and ethics.
  • Foster the development of PIER’s external relations to establish productive and mutually beneficial long-term relationships with partners and stakeholders.
  • Identify opportunities for PIER’s development.

PIER Advisory Board Members

Chair, Nick Alston

Chief Constable Simon Bailey

Assistant Chief Constable Andy Prophet

Professor Kate Bowers

Dr David Ho

Nerys Thomas