History, strategy and leadership

ARU's story starts in 1858, with the opening of Cambridge School of Art. Over the years a number of colleges and higher education institutes – including the art school – have come together to form Anglia Ruskin University.

Our focus has always been on transforming lives through innovative, inclusive education and research – and this still underpins our vision and values today. Our over-arching vision is supported by our ten-year strategy, Designing our future 2017-26.

As a University, we’re managed by a Board of Governors and a Senate. Our Vice Chancellor, Professor Roderick Watkins, is responsible for the day-to-day leadership of ARU. Roderick is supported by the Vice Chancellor’s Group (VCG) which consists of two Deputy Vice Chancellors, each with specific areas of responsibility, plus the Chief Operating Officer, Director of Finance and the Secretary and Clerk to the Governors.

Deans of Faculties and Directors of Professional Services combine with the Vice Chancellor’s Group to form the Corporate Management Team (CMT) and are responsible for our strategic and operational functions. Heads of Schools report into the Deans.

We have four faculties at ARU, each providing students, industry and the academic community with professionally focused and world-leading courses and research.